Dipika Wins Kolkata WISPA

Dipika carried the Indian Flag and hopes right to the winners podium as she beat Emma Beddoes of England the Number Two seed for the event. Thereby achieving a rare distinction of beating the Top and Second seed in  a tournament.  Dipika sort of made up for her friends Saurav’s loss in the semi’s of the mens yesterday by winning a very keenly contested match 11-9, 11-8, 9-11 & 11-6 in a match that lasted 55 minutes.

Mohammed El Shorbagy on the other hand had to fight off competition from fellow compatriot Tarek Memon in a match that almost lasted 80 minutes. 11-7, 3-11, 8-11, 11-8 & 11-8…



All Egyptian Mens Finals – Kolkata – 2010

As Indian Challenger # 7 reaches the Final Stage – S4HU Blogs are very happy to announce and introduce the induction of the very beautiful and charming Catalina Pelaez – from Colombia who has kindly consented to share some photos of the Kolkata 5 Star PSA & WISPA tourney.

The Semi final day saw Indian National Champion Saurav Ghosal carry forward his form against Adrian Grant. Mohammed El Shorbagy seeded No 17 in the world though had other plans and after loosing the game 5 -11 found his rythym and front court touch to beat the Indian 11-9, 11-3 & 14-12.

Saurav who played the first game brilliantly matched Shorbagy in the second loosing it out the Egyptian narrowly. In the third however he was totally outclassed. The fourth saw him fight back but eventually lost in the tie break 14-12. The match ended in a little less than one hour.

In the second semi finals Tarek Momen fought brilliantly to give the second seed Cameron Pilley run for his money. Pilley the Australian won the first 13-11 in a tie break to loose out on the next three without too much of a fight 11-9, 11-6 & 11-6

In the WISPA event Indian Joshna Chenappa lost out to English woman Emma Beddoes in 28 minutes 11-7, 11-4 & 11-8.

However, Indian date with the finals was kept by Dipika Palikal who played really good squash to down Top Seed from Malaysia Sharoon Wee – 8-11, 12-10, 11-6 & 11-9.

This is S4HU signing off from Calcutta Racket Club together with Catalina Pelaez until the finals later today. For earlier posts on the Kolkata event please click on the following link….

Kolkata PSA Records longest match….

The Qualifying matches started at the the 5 Star Indian Challenger # 7 – Kolkata PSA – 2010. Two Malaysians however recorded the longest squash match in history. Ivan Yuen and Mudh Asyraf Azam played a five setter that was contested over 163 minutes. Asyraf winning 11-9, 8-11, 12-10, 5-11 & 12-10.

The Indian Challenge in the qualifiers that featured Ritwick Bhattacharya, Harinder Pal Sandhu, Gaurav Nandrajog, Ravi Dixit, Sandeep Jhangra, Ramit Tandon, Naresh Kumar, Abhishek Pradhan and Karan Danodia ended in the first day itself with only Harinder Pal Sandhu making it to the second round of the qualifiers….beating Naresh Kumar. Harry however lost to another Malaysian Mohd. Nafizwan Adnan who beat former National Champion Ritwick Bhattachrya in the first round qualifier.

The Wispa event features a local girl from Delhi who recently won her first  National U -13 title. Harshit Kaur Jwanda  gets to play Aprajita Balamurkan a girl much senior to her in age. It is extremely nice to see SRFI infuse young blood to such eliete tournaments with youngsters like Harshit and another girl from Mumbai Ankita Sharma getting their first break.

Below players enjoying a meal together (picture courtesy Squash Site UK)….

Seen in the photo are Shorbagy, Catalina Pelaez, Momen, Joshna and Aprajita 

National Champions from India Joshna Chennapa and donning a new hair-style Saurav Ghosal

5 Star Kolkata PSA (Indian Challenger # 7)

The Kolkata Rackets Club gets ready for the Indian Challenger # 7 – the 5 Star Annual Kolkota PSA which gets under way soon. With close to 11 worlds top 50 players confirming their participation the event is sure to draw a lot of following.

S4HU – takes immence pleasure in covering the event as it is played for the benefit of its followers.


Starting on April 14th the event will draw huge interest not just in Kolkata and India but in the entire Squash Fraternity. The main Draw looks like this…..



(14th – 17th April 2010)



Sl. no. 1st RoundWed – 14 Apr 2010 Q. FinalThurs- 15 Apr 2010 S. FinalFri- 16 Apr 2010 FinalsSat – 17 Apr 2010  
 *1  Adrian Grant (ENG)  17:00, W-1      
  Qualifier     18:00, W-1     
 *8  Saurav Ghosal (IND)  18:00, W-1       
  Aaron Frankomb (AUS)       18:00, W-1   
 *3  Md. El SHorbagy (EGY)  19:00, W-1       
  Renan Lavigne (FRA)     19:00, W-1     
 *5  Ong Beng Hee (MAS)  16:00, W-1       
  Qualifier         18:30, W-1 
    Qualifier  17:00, W-2      
*7 Tarek Momen (EGY)     18:00, W-2     
    Siddhanth Suchde (IND)  18:00, W-2       
*4 Md. Azlan Iskander (MAL)       19:00, W-1   
    Julian Illingworth (USA)  19:00, W-2       
*6 Jonathan Kemp (ENG)     19:00, W-2     
    Qualifier  16:00, W-2       
*2 Cameron Pilley (AUS)          


Besides these players there are many others who will be playing qualifiers prominent among them are –

Chris Simpson

ENG  48
Yasir Butt PAK  54
Mohd. Nafiizwan Adnan MAS  56
Adrian Waller ENG  63
Muhd Asyraf Azan MAS  74
Max Lee HKG  76
Ivan Yuen MAS  86
Dick Lau HKG  88
Harinder Pal Sandhu IND 107
Ritwik Bhattacharya IND 115
Clinton Leeuw RSA 118
Naresh Kumar IND


    • The attention will soon shift to the Calcutta Rackets Club – a place that has been hositing this event annual for many years now.
    • To know more about The Clubs heritage please click on the link below..

  • Catch Noida Squash on Facebook

  • Resource Partner


    Image Hosting by Picoodle.com
  • S4HU Supports

  • President of India Mrs P.Patil Felicitates WSF President – Mr N. Ramachandran

  • Back the Bid – 2020

  • Squash PC / Video Games



    • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

    • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.
  • Top Posts